A Simple Spreadsheet App

I've been on the road quite a bit the past few months for my job. In this post I wanted to share about an app that I've found useful out in the field. I'm also planning another post inspired by my travels in a couple of weeks.

The Simple Spreadsheet app for Android is exactly what its name says. I find that it's for useful for doing repetitive calculations, with the added bonus that it can be exported to .csv format so the data entry step doesn't have you be repeated when you get back to a laptop or desktop computer. This app is also intelligently designed for phone-sized screens, with a mini numbers-plus-operators keyboard (shown in the screenshot below) that can be expanded to a full keyboard for entering text.

Here's a screenshot of this app in use:
Screenshot from Simple Spreadsheet App

For doing really advanced calculations on a smartphone, I've discovered that octave is now available on Android, although I haven't tried it out yet.

Permalink