The Operative from Serenity

I'm busy this week, so I decided to share a .gif I made and some quotes I like from the movie Serenityit's hard to believe that it came out 10 years ago.

Here is the .gif, of the scene where the nameless "Operative" (played by Chiwetel Ejiofor) makes his first appearance:

.gif of the Operative

Here are a few quotes that bring out some of the themes of this movie:

Capt. Malcolm Reynolds: Y'all got on this boat for different reasons, but y'all come to the same place. So now I'm asking more of you than I have before. Maybe all. Sure as I know anything, I know this - they will try again. Maybe on another world, maybe on this very ground swept clean. A year from now, ten? They'll swing back to the belief that they can make people... better. And I do not hold to that. So no more runnin'. I aim to misbehave.

 

Young River: People don't like to be meddled with. We tell them what to do, what to think, don't run, don't walk. We're in their homes and in their heads and we haven't the right. We're meddlesome.

 

Capt. Malcolm Reynolds: So me and mine gotta lay down and die... so you can live in your better world?
The Operative: I'm not going to live there. There's no place for me there... any more than there is for you. Malcolm... I'm a monster.What I do is evil. I have no illusions about it, but it must be done.

Malcolm Reynolds is played by Nathan Fillion, who is one of my favourite actors. His current role is as the title character in Castle, which I may write about sometime.

Permalink