150th

If my count is correct, this is my 150th post on this blog. I wanted to mark the milestone. Also, I don't plan to have a post next week, so happy Easter to all my readers.

To look back on the past 3+ years (2014, 2015, 2016) of blogging, I've selected 15 posts (10%) that I think provide a decent cross-section of the things I've written during this time, from book reviews, to 3D printing, to math, to travelling, and even the occasional post related to what I've studied or do professionally. Here they are:

  • GHOST_URL/writing-an-stl-file-from-scratch/
  • GHOST_URL/nutrient-cycle-infographic-nitrogen/
  • GHOST_URL/27-rivers-to-know/
  • GHOST_URL/a-minimalist-map-of-the-us-interstate-system/
  • GHOST_URL/cellular-automata-in-excel/
  • GHOST_URL/the-americas-before-1492/
  • GHOST_URL/mapping-hyla-park/
  • GHOST_URL/a-tiling-primer/
  • GHOST_URL/mushrooms-and-mosses/
  • GHOST_URL/ice-out-dates-in-oromocto-lake/
  • GHOST_URL/wolastoq/
  • GHOST_URL/from-the-first-caliphs-to-the-first-world-war/
  • GHOST_URL/solomon-and-confucius-part-1/
  • GHOST_URL/cana-de-acucar/
  • GHOST_URL/diy-co2-aq/

From time to time, I like to search to see who is linking to my blog, and return the favour where appropriate. This is a nice post about spreadsheets that I found in this way recently.

The title of this post does double-duty, as 2017 is the 150th anniversary of Canadian Confederation. National Parks are free to enter this year, and I've set a goal to try to make it to at least 3 this year. Some possibilities are:

Speaking of Fundy, there was a recent article in a British newspaper profiling the Fundy Footpath. I haven't hiked it, but I went sea kayaking last summer with the same outfitter.

Between looking back at some previous posts, contemplating future adventures, and offering a couple of interesting links, I feel this milestone has been suitably marked. Writing a blog has been a good experience so far, and I look forward to continuing it for however long it remains one.

Permalink