2017 Year in Review

I've been blogging for four years now. At the end of each year, I take a look back at what I've written over the past twelve months and highlight some of my favourite posts. It's also an opportunity to provide a convenient annual archive so readers can click on interesting links they may have missed.

2017 was Canada's sesquicentennial; some of my highlights from the year involved enjoying my own country by visiting national—and local—parks (Kejimkujik, Fundy, and Kouchibouguac) along with some museums and galleries.

Early in the year, I had the opportunity to travel to Brazil for my job, which was a great experience. Here's another post that relates to my professional life.

I read around 20 books this year. I reviewed 8 on my blog (most of the rest were novels), including: The Sea: A Cultural History, Quantified, Seasteading, and Every Good Endeavor.

For 2018, I already have a lengthy list of books I'd like to read. I'd also like to take an international trip for vacation (still to be determined). Closer to home, I'd like to explore some out-of-the-way corners of NB (e.g. Mt. Carleton, Deer Island, and Lameque). Of course, I also want to keep kayaking and hiking and probably get to a national park or two (even though admission won't be free next year). If anyone else is planning to visit my neck of the woods, this post may be a useful guide.

Here is the complete list of posts from this year (previous years: 2014, 2015, 2016):

  • GHOST_URL/rational-optimism-about-the-environment/
  • GHOST_URL/obd2/
  • GHOST_URL/stochastic-tiling-script/
  • GHOST_URL/get-on-board-in-catalina/
  • GHOST_URL/nb-budget-2017-looking-local/
  • GHOST_URL/putting-the-sea-in-civilization/
  • GHOST_URL/cana-de-acucar/
  • GHOST_URL/graos-de-cafe/
  • GHOST_URL/diy-co2-aq/
  • GHOST_URL/deffeyes-diagram/
  • GHOST_URL/unesco-sites/
  • GHOST_URL/thats-a-moire/
  • GHOST_URL/150th/
  • GHOST_URL/orbiting-kerbin/
  • GHOST_URL/flooded-forests/
  • GHOST_URL/watermark-sculpture/ (this post has a cool .gif!)
  • GHOST_URL/quantified-conservation/
  • GHOST_URL/henry-ketchum/
  • GHOST_URL/mactaquac-to-morell/
  • GHOST_URL/diy-telescope-part-2/
  • GHOST_URL/water-energy-food/
  • GHOST_URL/wabanaki/
  • GHOST_URL/looking-for-whales-in-charlotte-county/
  • GHOST_URL/the-tao-of-water/
  • GHOST_URL/cost-of-housing-in-new-brunswick/
  • GHOST_URL/most-probable-number/
  • GHOST_URL/a-tale-of-two-lakes/
  • GHOST_URL/research-on-mbr-costs/
  • GHOST_URL/chignecto/
  • GHOST_URL/putting-civilization-in-the-sea/
  • GHOST_URL/top-ten-things-to-do-in-fredericton/
  • GHOST_URL/mushrooms-and-messier-objects/
  • GHOST_URL/arctic-salinity/
  • GHOST_URL/assorted-links-fall-2017/
  • GHOST_URL/fresh-canvas/
  • GHOST_URL/weftec-2017/
  • GHOST_URL/delving-into-the-fundamentals-of-anaerobic-digestion/
  • GHOST_URL/wily-slapdash-heists-hearts-strangely-warmed/
  • GHOST_URL/artistic-river-map/
  • GHOST_URL/ottawa-museum-crawl/
  • GHOST_URL/national-and-local-parks-2017/
  • GHOST_URL/salt-makes-you-thirst/
  • GHOST_URL/there-really-is-a-tree/
  • GHOST_URL/2017-year-in-review/

To wrap up, I have a few random notes to share:

  • The mayor of Saint John had a recent pitch to attract new residents that matches up with an analysis I did on housing costs.
  • There were 25 videos with over a billion views on YouTube a year and a half ago when I wrote this post. Now, there are 91 (see here). The most viewed video used to be "Gangnam Style" (with over 2 billion views—now over 3 billion) and now it is "Despacito" (at 4.6 billion views).
  • If you missed my series on Solomon and Confucius last December, it's worth a read (in my admittedly biased opinion)

Permalink